Organisational & Management Structure

The Board

The Board has corporate responsibility for ensuring that it fulfils its role under the Judiciary and Courts (Scotland) Act 2008 in meeting the objectives set out in the 2008 Act and for promoting the efficient and effective use of staff and other resources available to the Board.

There are twelve board members: four judicial and two legal members (two judges, a sheriff principal, a sheriff, an advocate and a solicitor) and six lay members including the lay chairing member.


The Board is served by a dedicated Secretariat based in Edinburgh.

The team are:

Chief Executive: Mrs Erica Clarkson
Board Secretary & Court Appointments Manager: Miss Ashleigh Meikle
Tribunal Appointments & Governance Manager: Mr John Wallace
Appointments Team Leader Miss Rachel Craig
Administrator Miss Katy Mitchell